Skip to content

Time. Value. Money

June 29, 2012

My first job paid me $6.35 per hour. My uniform was always clean and neat; and I worked diligently to keep the aisles stocked while politely answering customers’ questions about pens, paper, mailing, and various office equipment. I was delighted each time I got a $0.25 raise per hour! After college; my first career job gave me $27,000 per year; as I applied my growing knowledge and skills; I was rewarded with higher annual salaries.

I was told hundreds of times that my first 5 years would be filled with hard work and minimal pay. As you begin to earn a reputation; work will get easier and pay will improve. Then at some point; someone will tap you on the shoulder – announcing you as ‘a success’. You will have great income; respect from peers and clients; the ability to come and go as you please; and you will have a nice car and house – maybe a boat or vacation property. All I had to do was work hard for 10-15 or more years.

For over a decade, my income seemed completely arbitrary. So I began to study the art of becoming successful. I read books; attended seminars; and even found a few mentors. But it wasn’t until my first job in sales – when I was paid a portion of what I sold, that business began to finally make sense to me.

I discovered many ways that are not successful; as well as many that were. But it always MADE SENSE! Once I was free from the constraints of time; I could finally embrace this secret of making money.

Profits and Success seem to follow a natural system – they are the result of invested effort; peak performance; and delivering value.

Invested Effort:
Showing up on the job and taking an active role in completing tasks is effort.
Spending hours rehearsing a single pitch to a prospect until you can present it convincingly is invested effort. Sprinters invest countless hours of daily intense training for an event that might only last a few seconds.

Peak Performance:
Closing a sale and getting signed orders is performance.
Designing the specific details of an order that ensures delivery of product, payment terms and everything else integrates perfectly with all your clients’ needs – even on a very small order – is peak performance. Musicians that play to a crowd of 20 people and treat them like 2,000 get asked to play for an audience of 20,000.

Delivering Value:
Making and selling products that people want at prices they can afford is valuable.
Becoming a sustaining resource that helps both the client and the company grow in partnership over many years is delivering value. In my role of selling hair products to salons; I was often asked to help my owners interview new talent, host/run staff meetings, as well as design their training and incentive programs.

The only thing that limits your success is your dedication and creativity!

 

 

 

Copyright © David R Frick/SuccessVentures LLC 2012 All Rights Reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced without written consent from the author.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

